The Erwin Neter Award

The Erwin Neter Award is presented annually at the Buffalo Conference on Microbial Pathogenesis Meeting in Buffalo, NY. The Meeting is sponsored by the Microbial Pathogenesis Group (University at Buffalo), the Witebsky Center (University at Buffalo) and the Western New York Branch of the American Society for Microbiology. Students participating in the annual Student Poster Competition who are members of the WNYASM Branch are eligible for the Award.

The Award is dedicated to Dr. Erwin Neter. Dr. Neter was a world-renowned bacteriologist. He was born in Mannheim, Germany in 1909 and moved to Buffalo in 1936, living there throughout his career. Dr. Neter was an internationally known researcher in 1955 when he and his research partner, Dr. Eugene A. Gorzynski, identified enteropathogenic E. coli bacteria as a toxin producer that could cause severe diarrhea in infants and young children. This discovery has proven critical in the reduction of child and infant mortality in underdeveloped nations. Dr. Neter was the first President of the WNYASM Branch and served as a leader in the clinical microbiology community for years.